Athletics News

Congratulations WMS Cross Country Teams

Posted on: October 24, 2016
image of a running team

Our Middle School team competed in the Ohio Cross Country Middle School State Championships at Hilliard Bradley High School on Sunday. Our girls finished 7th in the state in Division II. Our team was lead by Hannah Gill placing in 4th place out of 147 of the best girl cross country runners in the state. Kate Handle placed 35th, Leah Butterbaugh in 53rd, Viviana Syvertsen in 86th and Teagan Cassidy in 103rd. Great job ladies!

The Middle School boys finished the season as the Undefeated Division II State Champions! Colin Amato was the individual state runner-up to the overall fastest runner in all divisions. Colin's time of 10:54 would have won the DI and DII races and Kaden Harvey's time of 11:02 would have also been good enough for 1st place in any other division but was 5th in ours. Next was Denver Johnson in 7th followed closely by Trevor Camp in 8th in the race of 189 outstanding runners from all over the state. Levi Morgan was next in 16th followed by Stefan Muterspaw in 32nd and Rhett Bailey in 36th. Gavin Price had the best race of his JH career with a PR followed by Caden Adams, and Casey Briggs who tied his previous PR. Joey Phillips and Gabe Coppock rounded out our state championship team. Our team competed in 9 different invitationals and defeated all 170 other schools we faced. Congratulations on the perfect season!