District News

Senior Tyler Dakin Receives Prestigious Award

Posted on: February 24, 2020
group of people dressed up and posing

On Thursday, February 20th Waynesville Senior Tyler Dakin, a member of our high school football team, was selected to receive the Tom Potter Courage Award presented by the National Football Foundation.  The presentation took place at the National Football Foundation Scholar Athlete Banquet at the Manor House in Mason.  The National Football Foundation Cincinnati chapter presents this award to an individual who participates in the great game of football.  This award is presented to a person who has overcome great obstacles in his life. The award is appropriately named the Tom Potter Memorial Award of Courage.  Former National Football Foundation board member and dear friend, Tom, lived each day of his life with a great deal of courage while possessing an overwhelming devotion and commitment to young people.  He truly represented the mission and beliefs of the Greater Cincinnati Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

Tyler receiving this award is a great honor for the Waynesville school district, football program, and community.  The Waynesville football program would like to thank all of those in attendance at the event including Tyler’s mother Christina Seawell, Superintendent Pat Dubbs, high school principal Sam Ison, high school english teacher Clay Cleaver, coaches Scott Jordan, Kyle Weisbrodt, Kyle Stone, and Kory Stilwell, and teammates Anthony Curry, Jaymes Bowman, and Jake Amburgy.  A special thanks to Waynesville CFO, Ron James, for making it possible for all the supporters to attend the event.