High School News

Congratulations Jessica Gill - 2018 Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award Recipient!

Posted on: May 7, 2018
two men and two ladies with a flag behind

Pictured from left: Ohio State Senator Steve Wilson, Teacher/Mentor Mrs. Lauren Clark; Jessica Gill; and Representative Scott Lipp


On April 13, 2018 the Warren County ESC hosted the 3rd Annual Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award Program.  Participating school districts included Carlisle, Franklin, Greater Ohio Virtual School, Kings, Lebanon, Little Miami,
Mason, Middletown, Springboro, Warren County Career Center, and Waynesville. Several Warren County elected officials attended along with many school district administrators. Senator Steve Wilson and Representative Scott Lipps were both present and awarded each student a commendation for their success.

Warren school districts are among the best in Ohio and the annual Franklin B Walter event showcased some of the County’s best students and teachers. The students’ many academic and extra-curricular achievements were
celebrated with some of the teachers and mentors who pushed and encouraged them through their school journey.  Eleven students received scholarships at this year’s Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Award Program, hosted by the Warren County Educational Service Center. The group of dedicated, hard-working students from districts throughout Warren County were honored at a luncheon attended by educators and local elected officials. The event was sponsored by the Greater Ohio Virtual School.

A unique twist on this event was that each student thanked a teacher or mentor whose encouragement and support promoted the student’s success. The top student from each school district received a $500 award from the Warren County ESC Governing Board, and the teacher/mentor recognized by each student received a $250 award.