Junior High School News

Thank You to Wayne Local Schools Board of Education

Posted on: January 19, 2022
board of education

The 2022 Theme is "Celebrating School Boards"


January is School Board Recognition Month 



School Boards lead so students can achieve; individual board members are citizens who serve children and represent their communities.  It takes strong schools to build a strong community.  School Board Members are accountable to the community and strongly advocate continuous improvement in student learning. 
School Board Members spend countless hours of unpaid time working to provide what is best for students and education.  While they wear many hats in the workday world, school board members put on a collective hat when they get down to the business of leading our school district.   They devote time in board meetings, seminars and training sessions to keep abreast of the latest trends in educational leadership, are deeply involved in community activities, and spend many hours in the schools and at extracurricular activities.  These people unselfishly contribute their time and talents towards the advancement of public education. 

Thank you to the following Board Members for your extraordinary dedication, selfless service, leadership, wisdom and commitment to providing the best education to our students.  We are grateful for all that you do for Wayne Local Schools and the Waynesville community. 

Pictured above, from left to right:  Board President Dr. Jim Byers, Brad Conner, Board Vice President Darren Amburgy, Jamie Gallagher, and Danny McCloud.

swearing in

Swearing in of elected Board Members:
From left to right: 
Brad Conner (Reelected to Third Term)
Darren Amburgy (Reelected to Second Term)
Jamie Gallagher (Elected First Term)

swearing in

Dr. Jim Byers - Sworn in as Board President

swearing in

Darren Amburgy - Sworn in as Board Vice President